Importing conversations from Mail.app, not just received or sent messages

Hi,

One of the key features of EagleFiler for me is to be a safe (because local and optionally encrypted) storage for email. I have a lot of folders in Mail.app and a high 6 digit number of emails. So there is an obvious necessity for finding a system to reliably manage emails offline. Old projects, etc. simply do no longer need to be on my server.

To test (literally - I am still in trial mode) EagleFiler’s import-capabilities, (1) I opened one of the many folders, (2) I clicked on the first conversation, and (2) used the capture key to import all emails in this conversation (6 altogether).

I checked my EagleFiler-library and expected 6 messages (3 questions from a client and 3 answers from me.), but there were only 3 messages there: EagleFiler only imported the ones I received, not the ones I have sent.

Now I am pretty sure that I have done something wrong as I am an EagleFiler newbie, but I could not find a step-by-step tutorial on how to import e-mail-conversations (received and sent emails) at the same time and display them in conversation view (or at least sorted by date, so that they are together) in EagleFiler? Only archiving one part of the conversation is archiving half done.

So my question is: How can I import conversations - and not single e-mails - from Mail.app into EagleFiler?

EagleFiler always imports the messages that are selected in the message list in Apple Mail. If you only have one mailbox selected, Mail’s message list will only show the received or sent messages (not both). To get both halves of the conversation, you would need to select both mailboxes (i.e. Inbox and Sent). You can do this with a single import if you Command-click to select multiple mailboxes, or do them separately.