Satisfactory Performance

Hello Michael,

I’ve been using SpamSieve since 2008, and now have a drone setup running SpamSieve 2.9.48 in Mail.app 16.0 under macOS Monterey (at my desk computer), with an iPhone SE (2020) and an older MacBook Air (macOS Catalina) for running around and travel. Mine is an IMAP account from a local ISP (cruzio.com here in Santa Cruz), which as far as I can see has little or no server-side filtering.

This setup seems to work just fine: there are very few false negatives or positives generated. I correct errors, and continue to be appreciative of your work.

But I wonder: might my system’s performance still be improvable, or be less effective than might be expected with this setup? Asked differently: is this a reasonable level of performance? I don’t see a way to show the Statistics panel in this composition box, but the Statistics panel contains these figures:

Filtered Mail:
4,386 Good Messages
2,278 Spam Messages (34%)
12 Spam Messages Per day

SpamSieve Accuracy
12 False Positives
14 False Negatives (54%)
99.6% Correct

Corpus
2,661 Good Messages
3,252 Spam Messages (55%)
557,980 Total Words

Rules
2,623 Blocklist Rules
24.8325 Whitelist Rules

*Showing Statistics Since
12/28/21 9:33 AM

Thanks!

David Brick
Santa Cruz CA

It’s common to get 99.9% filtering accuracy, but 99.6% is not bad. Given about 25 mistakes total this year, it may not be worth spending the time to try to reduce the error rate. However, if you’d like to do that, I would suggesting going through this page or using the Save Diagnostic Report command in the Help menu and sending me the report file, as described here so that I can see whether SpamSieve should be doing something differently or whether there’s something that should be adjusted in your setup.

Thank you, Micheal.
I like fiddling, so here’s the Diagnostic Report.
I do appreciate your time.