Search across multiple libraries

I’ve been using Eaglefiler for a couple of months now, storing notes, bookmarks etc., and like it so much I want to use it for more things.
Specifically, for projects I’m actively working on, but also archived projects. I often need to refer to these archived projects, so using the search function in EF would be a huge boon. However, this is a lot of data, at least 800 Gb, comprised of lots and lots of small files. As the SSD of my Mac is only 500 Gb, these archived projects are stored on a Synology Diskstation.

I have no doubt EF can handle this amount of data just fine, but I would have to store active projects (on my SSD) and archived projects (on the NAS) in separate libraries. And as far as I know, EF can’t search across multiple libraries. (I do know Spotlight can, but I would like to use smart folders in EF.)

Based on previous posts in this forum, I’m hoping this is something that is planned for an upcoming version. My question is basically: is this bound to be added in the foreseeable future? Or shouldn’t I be holding my breath? I know software developers are usually very reluctant to comment on future versions, but thought I would try my luck anyway.

I realise adding this functionality is a major job. Building an interface for it that won’t confuse users is probably not simple either…

Any suggestions for workarounds are very welcome too, of course.

Previous posts have asked about searching across multiple libraries at once, e.g. something akin to EagleFiler’s main search field that would find records from all the libraries that are currently open. This is a feature that I will likely add, although I can’t say when.