Workflow Automations & EagleFiler

Good day,

I’m brand new to Eagle Filer. I’m trying to get a good workflow set up that’s similar to my existing ones. I typically use a 3 or 4 folder progression that I’d like to mimic, start with an Inbox, move to Active, move to Archive. I also use a “Parked” or “Someday” folder.

I’m looking for suggestions on the best ways to move files/folders between libraries (short cuts, macros, scripts), and automate moving things from Active to Archive. I currently use Hazel rules for Active to Archive. I’ve browsed to forums a bit, and it seems like a logical approach to use my existing Hazel rules to trigger an AppleScript to import to the library I want to move to. What is still a little unclear is how that impacts the database in the library I move from. Will the library just see that the files are gone and remove them from the database, or will there be issues with the library?

Any best practice recommendations or lessons learned?

I guess the first question is, are you sure you want to use multiple libraries? It would be simpler to move files to another folder in the same library.

Could you give an example of one of your Hazel rules? Is it finding files by tag or date?

The first issue is preserving the metadata (notes, custom Title or From) when moving between libraries. If you do this via drag and drop within EagleFiler, it will happen automatically. If you use an outside app (Finder, Hazel) to import the file into the other library, it will depend on whether the metadata backup is current.

Secondly, if you move/delete a file out of the library folder, EagleFiler will notice that it’s missing. When it reports the file as missing, you can click the Trash button to move it to the trash to remove the old reference from the source library.

Another option would be to use AppleScript to tell EagleFiler to trash the file.