No spam filtered after upgrade

Hi, I hope you can help. I upgraded last week to Sonoma. I didn’t know about SpamSieve moving to v3. I’m running the demo just now and it will not work. No spam gets filtered at all. I don’t want to pay for the update until I know it’s working. I’ve been running SpamSieve for a couple of years with no problems until now. Would it be best to delete it completely and reinstall from scratch?

There’s no benefit to reinstalling; that just creates more work for you. If you need further assistance, please see this FAQ or use the Save Diagnostic Report command in the Help menu and send me the report file, as described here.

Hi Michael, thanks for the quick reply.

When I have spam email in my inbox and I press the Filter button (as on attached) some of the spam is removed. But only when I press the button. Strangely, some of them go into the Spam folder on my Mac and some of them go into the Junk folder (as on attached).

I’ve attached the Diagnostic Report in case that helps.

Thanks again for your reply.

John

Screenshot 2023-10-06 at 10.22.45 am.png

I think this is because you have Filter spam messages in other mailboxes unchecked.

The filtered messages go to Junk. There’s a separate setting to control where messages go when you train them as spam, and you have that set to Spam.

Thanks Michael,

I checked that box. I assumed that as I only wanted the messages in my Inbox checked that this was not needed. The other setting was already set to the name of the Spam folder on my Mac (attached).

When I made the change and click ed Filter Now, the spam in my inbox was coloured but stayed in the Inbox (see attached). The spam messages were correctly identified but didn’t;t move to the Spam folder where they used to go (attached).

Thanks again for your help. Really excellent, personal support which is well appreciated.

John

Screenshot 2023-10-06 at 10.22.45 am.png