Apple Mail Hanging After SpamSieve 3 Update

Michael, I have been using SpamSieve (SS) for years (many many years). I upgraded to the paid version a day or two ago and today Mail was simply hung. I had to force kill it then when I tried to restart it, it was hung so badly it would not display any mail windows at all. I finally force killed Mail again and SpamSieve and rebooted. This time I simply drug SpamSieve to the trashcan and restarted Mail and uninstalled the SpamSieve plug in. Please let me know when this issue is resolved and I will reinstall SS.

Did you only update the SpamSieve app, or did you also change other settings, e.g. Filter spam messages in other mailboxes? If you just kept everything the same, I would not expect to see any difference in Mail, as the SpamSieve plug-in works the same way as before. Mail does not normally wait on SpamSieve for anything, although sometimes Mail can take a while at launch to check a plug-in before loading it.

The If Apple Mail Is Running Slowly explains various reasons that Mail might be running slowly and what you can do about them. It’s a good idea to record a sample report from Mail during the hang so that we can see what’s causing it. Otherwise, we would be just guessing at what to do.

Hi Michael,

I did not change any settings when upgrading so everything should have been the same.